PresentationProductsProjectsVolunteeringImages
 
Humanitarian projects
The Wouol Association undertakes several projects meant to inform, sensitize and educate the population. Classes of alphabetization in French and in local languages, technical training and classes of non violent communication are offered to the population. The Association also acts in emergencies by welcoming and installing refugies. More over, it helps repatriated people integrate themselves. A system of community food distributes an average of 320 meals a day for its members. Futhermore, it values local and national expertise and it supports the elaboration and programming of development projects.
 
Development projects
Two projects are currently being achieved

1) Program consolidating organizational and selfpromotional capacities of the Wouol Association

The global objective of this program is to improve the profitability and the economic capacities of the Association through the reinforcement of technical management, of the diversification process, and of the organizers’ professionalism.

This program subdivides itself in six main objectives:

-Devloping the views of the basic groups and putting together a system of communication and of appropriate follow-up evaluations

-Reinforcing financial and accountant managmentof the Association by putting in place a financial and accounting system in accordance with the demands of the Accountant System of West Africa (SYSCOA) and of the Organization for the Harmonization of Business Law (OHADA).

-Increasing the number and quality of collected products

-Icreasing productivity and the capacity of rural micro-companies

-Marketing products by the emergence of a competitive commercial pole in order to assure to the producers a sustainable and fair salary

-Increase the sensibility and improve the practices of the the members and of the local population by putting together an educational system related to environment issues and to the sustainable management of natural ressources

 
2) Diversification program financed by Intermon Oxfam (2006-2008)

The overall objective of this program is to improve, in a fair way, the populations’ income through the creation of stable jobs and the distribution of fair salaries.

The program’s aims the reinforcement of the main members’ professionalism and the acquisition of modern equipment. These actions are put out in a context of market expansion and of harsh quality norms being adopted internationally. The goal is to increase the profitability and productivity of the transformation sector while favoring the protection of the environment, agricultural production, marketing, and the access for the population to basic social services.

The Wouol Association concentrates its efforts on the integration of the various growing operations, like pineapples and the … which are harvested alternatley to the mangoes.

Here’s a list of some of the program’s concrete objectives:

-Promoting the use of waste coming out of mangoes to make into juice, syrup or jam

-Creating a production unit for cashew almonds

-Transforming 480 tons of nuts, creating 150 jobs and exporting 40 tons of cashew almonds

-Producing dried papayas and pineapples

-Selling shelled and steamed fonio on the local market

-Producing sesame and bissap.

 
Achieved projects
During the year 2002, the Wouol Association concentrated its efforts on three particular programs. First of all, it developed a humanitarian management program to help relieve the consequences of the Ivorian crisis on the Cascades region. Moreover, it defined the parameters of its strategic plan.

The Association has also put together a program for the reinforcement of organizational and commercial activities for local products. This program received techninal advice and was financially supported by Internom Oxfam and by the Spanish community of Castille-La-Manche, which helped obtain appreciable results. Indeed, between 2001 and 2005 the number of harvested mangoes went from 150 thousand kg to 650 thousand kg, which gave 26 million of FCFA (equivalent to 40 thousand Euros). During the same period, the quantity of dried mangoes went from 5 500 kg to 31 000 kg for a total of 96 million FCFA (representing 146 thousand Euros). This improvement has contributed to the diversification of food habits and the creation of 456 jobs, 433 of which are held by women.

  Achievements
 

-Making of a transformation unit

 

 
-The construction of infrastructures for transformation: four mango drying facilities of a capacity of 90 tons of dried products, as well as a juice, syrup and jam fabricating facility

-Creation of 450 jobs which 87% are occupied by women, nd increase of the average annual salary

-Acquisition of the FLO certificate for fair trade and the ECOCERT-International certificate for biological products

-Setting of a collecting and marketing center

-Introduction of agricultural and management counseling for the development process

-Welcoming of national and international interns from schools and universities

-Partnership with the University of Ouagadougou, the Polytechnical University of Bobo-Dioulasso and the Polytechnical University of Catalonia

-Creation of a micro-enterprises network of fruit transformation and creation of a cereal bank

-Acquisition of 45 gas homes and 347 bikes for the members

-Creation of a community canteen with a large variety of food made with local products (Karfiguela rice, Banfora attiéké, the members’ vegetable harvest …), and creation of a health and education center.

-Political positioning: presidency of the Consultation and Exchange Provincial Board for organizations of producers and presidency of the Agricultural Chairmanship of the Cascades region.

 
Advocacy and Lobbying

The Wouol Association leads advocacy and lobbying actions aiming a change in politics favoring a fair commerce and to put a human face on growth of the rural community.

Through the association’s sensitizing actions, producers have been promoted within representing structures such as the Regional House of Agriculture (CRA). It actively participated in the realization context study and in the making of the CRA’s action plan. They work together in order to obtain the brand name for original Burkina Faso mangoes. Together, they try to make the local population socially conscious so it will participate in the region’s political and administrative decentrlisation mouvement.

The Wouol Association also succeeded in placing its members within the region’s decisional authorities. The Association is a member of the national platform for fair trade and of the African Symposium of Fair Trade (SACE). It is also at the chairmanship of the Provincial Board for consultation and exchange with organizations of producers. Moreover, it conducts pleading speeches together with non governmental organizations (NGOs) in defense of Burkina Faso’s rice and cotton.

 

FrançaisContactPartners

PrésentationProduitsProjetsVolontariatImages
 
Projets humanitaires
L’association Wouol entreprend divers projets dans le but d’informer, de sensibiliser et d’éduquer la population. Celle-ci peut assister à des cours d’alphabétisation en français et en langues locales, à des cours de formation technique et à des formations de communication non violente. L’association pose également des actions de secours et d’urgence afin de pouvoir accueillir et installer des réfugiés. Elle aide également à l’insertion des rapatriés. Elle offre aussi un système de restauration communautaire distribuant en moyenne 320 plats par jour pour ses différents membres. Elle favorise le développement de l’expertise tant locale que nationale et l’encadrement des principaux acteurs dans l’élaboration et la programmation des projets de développement.
 
Projets de développement
Deux projets sont présentement en cours de réalisation

1) Programme de consolidation des capacités organisationnelles et d’autopromotion de l’association Wouol
L’objectif global de ce programme est d’améliorer la rentabilité et les capacités économiques de l’association par le renforcement de la gestion technique, du processus de diversification et du professionnalisme des acteurs. Toutes ces interventions sont réalisées avec un souci de gestion durable de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles.

Ce programme se divise en 6 objectifs principaux :

· Développer la vision des groupements de base et mettre en place un système de communication et de suivi d’évaluation adéquat

· Renforcer la gestion financière et comptable de l’association par la mise en place d’un système comptable et financier conformément aux exigences du Système comptable Ouest africain (SYSCOA) / Organisation pour l’harmonisation des droits des affaires (OHADA)

· Augmenter la quantité et la qualité des produits collectés

· Accroître la productivité et la capacité des micros entreprises rurales

· Commercialiser les produits des producteurs par l’émergence d’un pôle commercial compétitif afin de leur assurer un revenu soutenu et équitable

· Améliorer la sensibilité et les pratiques des acteurs et de la population locale par la mise en place d’un système d’éducation relatif à l’environnement et à la gestion durable des ressources naturelles

 
2) Programme de diversification des activités financé par Intermón Oxfam (2006-2008)
 

L’objectif global de ce programme est d’améliorer de façon équitable les revenus de la population locale par la création d’emplois stables et la distribution de salaires équitables.

Les actions de ce programme visent le renforcement du professionnalisme des acteurs de base et l’acquisition d’équipements modernes. Ces actions sont posées dans un contexte d'expansion du marché et d’adoption de normes internationales de qualité très rigoureuses. Le but est d'améliorer la rentabilité et la productivité du secteur de la transformation tout en favorisant la protection de l'environnement, la production agricole, la commercialisation et l'accès de la population aux services sociaux de base.

L'association Wouol concentre ses efforts sur l'intégration de cultures, telles l’ananas et l’anacarde, dont la récolte s’effectue pendant la saison alternative aux mangues.

Voici une liste de quelques objectifs concrets de ce programme :

· Valoriser les rebuts de la transformation de la mangue en fabriquant du jus, du sirop et des confitures

· Créer une unité de production d’amandes de cajou

· Transformer 480 tonnes de noix, créer 150 emplois et exporter 40 tonnes d’amandes de cajou

· Produire des papayes et des ananas séchés

· Vendre sur le marché local du fonio décortiqué et étuvé

· Produire du sésame et du bissap.
 
Projets réalisés
Au cours de l’année 2002, l’association Wouol a centré ses efforts sur trois programmes particuliers. Tout d’abord, elle a élaboré un programme humanitaire de gestion des conséquences de la crise ivoirienne pour la région des Cascades. De plus, elle a défini les paramètres de son plan stratégique.

L’association a également mis sur pied un programme de développement centré sur le renforcement des activités organisationnelles et commerciales des produits locaux. Ce programme, conseillé techniquement et soutenu financièrement par Intermón Oxfam et la communauté de la Castille-La-Manche, en Espagne, a permis l'obtention de résultats appréciables. En effet, entre 2001 et 2005, la quantité de mangues récoltées est passée de 150 mille kg à 650 mille kg pour une masse monétaire de 26 millions FCFA équivalent à 40 mille euros. Pour la même période, la quantité de mangues sèches est passée de 5 500 kg à 31 000 kg pour une masse monétaire de 96 millions FCFA équivalent à 146 mille euros. Cette amélioration a contribué à la diversification des habitudes alimentaires et à la création de 456 emplois, dont 433 sont occupés par des femmes.

  Réalisations
· Mise en place d'une unité de transformation d'anacardes
 
· Création d'infrastructures de transformation : quatre unités de séchage de mangues d'une capacité de 90 tonnes de produits séchés et d'une unité de production de jus, de sirop et de confitures

· Création de 450 emplois, dont 87% sont occupés par des femmes, et majoration du revenu moyen annuel

· Acquisition des certificats FLO pour le commerce équitable et ECOCERT-International pour les produits biologiques

· Mise en place d'un centre de collecte et de commercialisation de produits

· Introduction du concept de conseils agricoles et de conseils en gestion dans le processus de développement

· Accueil des stagiaires d’écoles et d’universités nationales et internationales

· Partenariat avec l’Université de Ouagadougou, l’Université Polytechnique de Bobo-Dioulasso et l’Université Polytechnique Catalogne

· Mise en place d'un réseau de micro-entreprises de transformation de fruits et d'une banque de céréales

· Acquisition de 45 foyers à gaz et de 347 vélos pour les membres

· Création d’une cantine communautaire servant des mets d’une grande variété avec une large gamme d’aliments produits localement (riz de Karfiguéla, attiéké de Banfora, légumes issus des exploitations des membres) et d’un centre de santé et d’éducation

· Positionnement politique : présidence du Cadre  provincial de concertation et d'échanges des Organisations des producteurs et de la Chambre d'agriculture des Cascades.

 
Plaidoyer et lobbying
L’association Wouol mène des actions de plaidoyer et de lobbying visant un changement de politique en faveur des ruraux pour un commerce plus juste et un développement à visage humain.

Les actions de sensibilisation entreprises par l'association lui ont permis d'être présente dans les différentes structures de représentation des producteurs comme la Chambre régionale d’agriculture (CRA). L'association a participé activement dans la réalisation d’étude de contexte et dans l'élaboration du plan d'action de la CRA. Elles travaillent conjointement afin d’effectuer des actions de sensibilisation dans le but d'obtenir une étiquette avec la dénomination d'origine pour les mangues du Burkina Faso. Ensemble, elles tentent de conscientiser la population locale afin qu'elle participe activement aux processus de décentralisation politique et administrative de la région.

L’association Wouol a également réussi à positionner ses membres auprès des instances décisionnelles de la région. Elle est membre de la plateforme nationale pour un commerce équitable et du Symposium africain du commerce équitable (SACE). Elle est aussi à la présidence du Cadre provincial de concertation et d’échanges des organisations des producteurs. L’association mène également des campagnes de plaidoyer avec les organismes non gouvernementaux (ONG) dans le cadre de la défense du riz et du coton burkinabés.

 

EnglishContactPartenaires